Rickles’ Book: A Memoir by Don Rickles With David Ritz

Rickles' Book: A MemoirRickles’ Book: A Memoir by Don Rickles

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I decided to read this today because my friend is retiring and has to return it to her co worker before she leaves her job. She read it last week. I had just started a large novel but put it down because my friend told me it was pretty good.

This is a very quick read. I read it in a few hours. It’s full of one liners, and humorous quips about Rickles’ life in and out of show business. He was successful because he filled that area of comedy that most people never ventured near. He often made fun of the members of his chosen profession and members of his audiences.

He schmoozed with presidents, famous actors and your everyday Joes. He was funny, but to be honest with you, I could only take his style of comedy in short doses. His book is written in much the same way as his performances.

The book did show a softer kinder side of Rickles. He seemed to be a caring man and his family seems to be very important to him.

My favorite line from the book is quote from Jack Carter, “Old age is rough. I thought I would be living on a golf course, but instead I’m living at Walgreens.”





A Fork In The Amish Road by Abigail Duncan

A Fork In The Amish RoadA Fork In The Amish Road by Abigail Duncan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I downloaded this because I thought it was a full novel, but it’s more of a short story. I liked it, but can’t give it more than 3 stars because it left me wanting more of a story.

Emily returns to her Amish community and wants to be baptized and accept the lifestyle. She is accepted and returns to the man who has been her friend all the years she has been away.

I think this could be a really good full length novel. If I had realized it was so short I would have passed it by.


Wild Grows the Heather in Devon by Michael R. Phillips

Wild Grows the Heather in Devon (The Secrets of Heathersleigh Hall Book #1)Wild Grows the Heather in Devon by Michael R. Phillips

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

It has taken me along time to read complete this book. I kept putting it down because I kept losing interest.

Sir Charles and Lady Jocelyn Rutherford are liberal people of influence and quite wealthy. While embarking on their Christian journey, their children have mixed reactions to the changes taking place in their lives. Mr. Phillips attempts to set the mood of the Victorian era in England. However, the book moves slowly and lacks enough meat to keep me interested. I expected more than just spiritually rich conversation without fulfilling the promise in the beginning of the book.

I doubt that I will continue on with the series.


The Third Twin by Ken Follett

The Third TwinThe Third Twin by Ken Follett

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

The Third Twin by Ken Follett

I have only read Ken Follett’s historical fiction. This book is a mix of science fiction in the form of genetic engineering, mystery and politics which I really enjoyed.

Jeannie Ferrami is a research scientist studying twins raised apart and aggression. She works at the prestigious university, Jones Falls in Baltimore Maryland. LIsa Hoxton is her best friend and works in the lab. She has been raped and Steve Logan, who is one of the twin subjects in the study is accused of her rape. The department chair, Berrington Jones,realizes Jeannie has stumbled upon his secret which sets a plan to eliminate her in motion.

Genetico is a company owned by Jones, and his two partners. They stand to make millions from its sale. The company has a hidden past that will stop the sale if it gets out.

I liked the characters in the book and the fast pace of it. I also like how Mr. Follett brought the ethical questions of genetic engineering to light.

I give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.


Private Paris by James Patterson & Mark Sullivan

Private Paris (Private #10)Private Paris by James Patterson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Jack Morgan is the owner of the international private investigation company who stops to check on things in his Paris office.  While there, a long time client calls him to find his granddaughter who is supposed to be in Paris but who is hiding from a dangerous drug dealer.  Morgan and the head of Private Paris, Louis Langlois, begin searching and are able to find her, and put her at the same hotel as Morgan. Morgan and Langlois are soon pulled into another case, when a man of some importance is found murdered. La Crime, France’s National Police Force, works with  Morgan  to have Private work in conjunction with the authorities to capture the group identifying itself as AB-16.

More bodies turn up and the same graffiti tag is left at the scenes.  The granddaughter of Morgan’s client is taken from the hotel and they are forced to split their time between the two cases.  There is no doubt that current situations in Paris, France, and all of Europe helped shape the narrative.   Xenophobia and Islamophobia are rampant through the story.  

I really enjoyed the book.  It had a lot of twists and turns and was filled with the unexpected.  

I give it 4 out of 5 stars.