Rickles' Book: A MemoirRickles’ Book: A Memoir by Don Rickles

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I decided to read this today because my friend is retiring and has to return it to her co worker before she leaves her job. She read it last week. I had just started a large novel but put it down because my friend told me it was pretty good.

This is a very quick read. I read it in a few hours. It’s full of one liners, and humorous quips about Rickles’ life in and out of show business. He was successful because he filled that area of comedy that most people never ventured near. He often made fun of the members of his chosen profession and members of his audiences.

He schmoozed with presidents, famous actors and your everyday Joes. He was funny, but to be honest with you, I could only take his style of comedy in short doses. His book is written in much the same way as his performances.

The book did show a softer kinder side of Rickles. He seemed to be a caring man and his family seems to be very important to him.

My favorite line from the book is quote from Jack Carter, “Old age is rough. I thought I would be living on a golf course, but instead I’m living at Walgreens.”

Wanda

 

 

Leave a Reply

